Stochastic Evolutionary Dynamics


Current lab members


Dr. Hildegard Uecker
Research group leader

Phone: + 49 4522 763-536
Email: uecker@nullevolbio.mpg.de

Twitter: @HildegardUecker


My research focuses on adaptation in populations that are severely challenged either by environmental change (natural populations) or by exposure to drug treatment (pathogen populations). I hope that insights from my research can contribute to improving conservation efforts and assist in decelerating the emergence of drug resistance. As a mathematician, I am mainly interested in stochastic modeling (in particular in the application of branching process theory to problems in biology).

(more)


Ernesto Berríos-Caro
Postdoc

Email: berrios@nullevolbio.mpg.de




Topic: Models for the evolution of antibiotic resistance



Puneeth Deraje
Internship student

Email: deraje@nullevolbio.mpg.de




Topic: Evolutionary rescue: The influence of mate finding, selfing, and hybridization



Ian Dewan, MSc
PhD student

Phone: + 49 4522 763-541
Email: dewan@nullevolbio.mpg.de



Topic: Multicopy plasmids and heterozygosity



Dr. Félix Geoffroy
Postdoc

Phone: +49 4522 763-541
Email: geoffroy@nullevolbio.mpg.de



Topic: Plasmid-mediated horizontal gene transfer of resistance genes within and between bacterial species



Christin Nyhoegen, MSc
PhD student

Phone: + 49 4522 763-576
Email: nyhoegen@nullevolbio.mpg.de



Topic: Models for the within-host evolution of antibiotic resistance during treatment



Mario Santer, MSc
PhD student

Phone: + 49 4522 763-576
Email: santer@nullevolbio.mpg.de



Topic: The influence of the plasmid copy number on bacterial adaptation